Council Elections

Local government elections are conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act 1993 and the Local Government (General) Regulation 2005.

The next elections are due to be held on Saturday 10 September 2016.

Voting is compulsory for all residents of the Mid-Western Regional Local Government Area (LGA) who are registered on the electoral roll.

Please note there is no absentee voting in Local Government Elections.   If you will not be in the Mid-Western Regional LGA on the day of the election, you can lodge a postal vote in the period immediately prior to the election. Alternatively, pre-poll voting is available in the two weeks leading up to polling day.

Council supports diverse representation in local government and intending candidates can access information from the NSW Electoral Commission to assist in the nomination process for the 2012 Local Government Elections.


All you need to know about Mid-Western Regional Council elections

It is compulsory for Australian citizens resident in this council, 18 years of age or older, to enrol and vote for representatives of their council on Saturday, 10 September 2016.

The penalty for not voting is $55.

There is no absent voting so you must vote at a polling place or pre-poll venue issuing votes for your local council or ward.

Sydney Town Hall will also be a polling place for this council. This means that you can vote at Sydney Town Hall on election day.

You will be able to pre-poll vote at Sydney Town Hall from 29 August, if you are eligible.

Key dates

Key dates for the 2016 NSW Council Elections (PDF 50KB)

The following elections will be held for Mid-Western Regional Council:

Election of 9 Councillors

Are you enrolled in this council area?

Residential Roll

Check your residential enrolment

Who are the Candidates?

Candidate nominations closed on Wednesday, 10 August. Lists of nominated candidates are now available. Councillor candidates are searchable by Surname, Council Area, and by Group and Ungrouped. Mayoral candidates are searchable by Surname and Council Area.

Councillor candidates


Pre-Poll Voting

If you can't make it to a polling place on Election Day, you may be eligible to cast a pre-poll vote.

Pre-poll voting opens on Monday, 29 August and closes at 6.00pm on Friday, 9 September.

Pre-poll locations


Postal Voting

  • Postal Vote Applications are open now and close 5.00pm Monday, 5 September.
  • Postal vote packs will be sent from approximately 3 weeks prior to Election Day. Please allow 5 business days for the postal vote pack to be received.
  • Electors will receive a postal vote pack containing ballot paper(s), instructions for postal voting, a postal vote declaration envelope and a reply paid envelope.
  • Completed postal ballot papers must be received by the returning officer servicing your council no later than 6.00pm on Monday 12 September 2016.
Postal vote application

Apply online for a Postal Vote – it's quick and easy!

Or you can download a postal vote application form (PDF) and return it to the NSW Electoral Commission using one of the lodgement methods outlined in this form, by 5.00pm Monday, 5 September.

Polling Places

Polling Places are open from 8.00am to 6.00pm on Saturday, 10 September 2016.

You must vote at a polling place in your council area (and within your ward, if your council area is divided into wards). Use the links below to find your council’s polling places.


Returning Officer’s office

Returning Officers are officials appointed by the Electoral Commissioner to conduct an election for one or more council areas.

Their offices are the sites for several election activities, including: lodgement of candidate nominations, conducting the ballot paper draw, counting votes, and declaring results.

View the address and contact details of this council’s Returning Officer’s Office

NSW Electoral Commission

More information on Local Government Elections can be found on the NSW Electoral Commission website:

Which council am I enrolled in?

To find out where you are enrolled, visit the AEC enrolment verification.