Item 7: Office of the General Manager

7.1 Fixing of Annual Fees for Councillors and the Mayor

REPORT BY THE GOVERNANCE COORDINATOR

TO 16 JUNE 2021 ORDINARY MEETING GOV400088, GOV400010

RECOMMENDATION

That Council:

- 1. receive the report by the Governance Coordinator on the Fixing of Annual Fees for Councillors and the Mayor; and
- 2. fix fees for Councillors and the Mayor for the period of July 2021 to June 2022 at \$20,690 for Councillors and an additional \$45,140 for the Mayor;
 - 2.1 Council pay the Deputy Mayor a fee, to be deducted from the additional fee payable to the Mayor, for periods of 7 days or more, where the Mayor is unable to carry out the duties of Mayor, such fee to be for the period that the Deputy Mayor acts in the role of the Mayor;
 - 2.2 the calculation of this fee to be determined at a pro rata rate of the Mayor's Additional fee.

Executive summary

This report addresses the need for Council to fix the annual fees for Councillors and the Mayor for the period July 2021 to June 2022. The report recommends an increase from \$20,280 to \$20,690 for Councillors and an additional payment to the Mayor increasing from \$44,250 to \$45,140.

Disclosure of Interest

Nil.

Detailed report

The Local Government Act 1993 provides that Council must pay an annual fee to each Councillor and to the Mayor. The Mayoral fee must be paid in addition to the fee paid to the Mayor as a Councillor. The Council may fix these fees and, if it decides to do so, the fees must be fixed in accordance with the determination of the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal. If Council does not fix a fee, it is required to pay the minimum fee determined by the Remuneration Tribunal.

The Act also provides that Council may pay the Deputy Mayor as fee determined by the Council for such time as the Deputy Mayor acts as in the office of the Mayor, such amount to be deducted from the Mayor's annual fee.

The Act provides that the Remuneration Tribunal must make a determination in relation to fees, not later than 1 May each year. Extracts from the 2021 determination of the Remuneration Tribunal is

attached. As a consequence of that determination, this Council has been categorised as Regional Rural, the fees applicable for the period July 2021 to June 2022 being:

- Councillor Minimum \$9,370, Maximum \$20,690.
- Mayoral (additional fee) Minimum \$19,970, Maximum \$45,140.

Community Plan implications

Theme	Good Governance
Goal	Strong civic leadership
Strategy	Provide clear strategic direction through the Community Plan, Delivery Program and Operational Plans

Strategic implications

Council Strategies

Community Strategic Plan

Council Policies

Payment of Expenses and Provision of Facilities to Councillors Policy

Legislation

Local Government Act 1993

Financial implications

These fees are accounted for in Council's Operational Plan 2021/22.

Associated Risks

Not applicable.

TIM JOHNSTON SIMON JONES

GOVERNANCE COORDINATOR DIRECTOR COMMUNITY

18 May 2021

Attachments: 1. Local Government Remuneration Tribunal 23 April 2021 extracts.

APPROVED FOR SUBMISSION:

BRAD CAM GENERAL MANAGER

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

Annual Report and Determination

Annual report and determination under sections 239 and 241 of the Local Government Act 1993

23 April 2021

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

Table 2: General Purpose Councils - Non-Metropolitan

Major Regional City (2)
Newcastle
Wollongong

Major Strategic Area (1)
Central Coast

Regional Strategic Area (1)			
Lake Macquarie			

Regional Centre (24)			
Albury	Mid-Coast		
Armidale	Orange		
Ballina	Port Macquarie-Hastings		
Bathurst	Port Stephens		
Blue Mountains	Queanbeyan-Palerang		
Cessnock	Shellharbour		
Clarence Valley	Shoalhaven		
Coffs Harbour	Tamworth		
Dubbo	Tweed		
Hawkesbury	Wagga Wagga		
Lismore	Wingecarribee		
Maitland	Wollondilly		

Regional Rural (13)				
Bega				
Broken Hill				
Byron				
Eurobodalla				
Goulburn Mulwaree				
Griffith				
Kempsey				
Kiama				
Lithgow				
Mid-Western				
Richmond Valley Council				
Singleton				
Snowy Monaro				

Rural (57)				
Balranald	Cootamundra- Gundagai	Junee	Oberon	
Bellingen	Cowra	Kyogle	Parkes	
Berrigan	Dungog	Lachlan	Snowy Valleys	
Bland	Bland Edward River		Temora	
Blayney	Federation	Liverpool Plains	Tenterfield	
Bogan	Forbes	Lockhart	Upper Hunter	
Bourke	Gilgandra	Moree Plains	Upper Lachlan	
Brewarrina	Glen Innes Severn	Murray River	Uralla	
Cabonne	Greater Hume	Murrumbidgee	Walcha	
Carrathool	Gunnedah	Muswellbrook	Walgett	
Central Darling	Gwydir	Nambucca	Warren	
Cobar	Hay	Narrabri	Warrumbungle	
Coolamon	Hilltops	Narrandera	Weddin	
Coonamble	Inverell	Narromine	Wentworth	

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

Determination No. 2 - Fees for Councillors and Mayors as per section 241 of the LG Act effective from 1 July 2021

The annual fees to be paid in each of the categories to Councillors, Mayors, Members and Chairpersons of County Councils effective on and from 1 July 2021 as per section 241 of the *Local Government Act 1993* are determined as follows:

Table 4: Fees for General Purpose and County Councils

Category		Councillor/Member		Mayor/Chairperson	
		Annual Fee (\$)		Additional Fee* (\$)	
		effective 1 July 2021		effective 1 July 2021	
		Minimum	Maximum	Minimum	Maximum
	Principal CBD	28,190	41,340	172,480	226,960
General Purpose	Major CBD	18,800	34,820	39,940	112,520
Councils -	Metropolitan Large	18,800	31,020	39,940	90,370
Metropolitan	Metropolitan Medium	14,100	26,310	29,950	69,900
	Metropolitan Small	9,370	20,690	19,970	45,110
	Major Regional City	18,800	32,680	39,940	101,800
	Major Strategic Area	18,800	32,680	39,940	101,800
General Purpose Councils -	Regional Strategic Area	18,800	31,020	39,940	90,370
Non-Metropolitan	Regional Centre	14,100	24,810	29,330	61,280
	Regional Rural	9,370	20,690	19,970	45,140
	Rural	9,370	12,400	9,980	27,060
County Councils	Water	1,860	10,340	4,000	16,990
County Countries	Other	1,860	6,180	4,000	11,280

^{*}This fee must be paid in addition to the fee paid to the Mayor/Chairperson as a Councillor/Member (s.249(2)).

Viv May PSM

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

Dated: 23 April 2021

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

Regional Rural

Councils categorised as Regional Rural will typically have a minimum residential population of 20,000.

Other features may include:

- a large urban population existing alongside a traditional farming sector, and are surrounded by smaller towns and villages
- health services, tertiary education services and regional airports which service a regional community
- a broad range of industries including agricultural, educational, health, professional, government and retail services
- large visitor numbers to established tourism ventures and events.

Councils in the category of Regional Rural provide a degree of regional servicing below that of a Regional Centre.

Rural

Councils categorised as Rural will typically have a residential population less than 20,000. Other features may include:

- one or two significant townships combined with a considerable dispersed population spread over a large area and a long distance from a major regional centre
- a limited range of services, facilities and employment opportunities compared to Regional Rural councils
- local economies based on agricultural/resource industries.

County Councils - Water

County councils that provide water and/or sewerage functions with a joint approach in planning and installing large water reticulation and sewerage systems.

County Councils - Other

County councils that administer, control and eradicate declared noxious weeds as a specified Local Control Authority under the *Biosecurity Act 2015*.